Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Blood freaks me out.   I’m a wimp when it comes to getting my blood drawn. Just a mere peak at the red stuff makes me woozy and wobbly.  Even typing the word BLOOD makes me queasy.  So you can imagine how uncomfortable today’s creepy feature is going to be for me. I just hope I don’t end up kissing the hardwood floor before I finish this review.

I must admit.  I scoured the internet to look for perfume samples that would suit today’s occasion being that it’s Halloween and I was willing to test the most disgusting scent ever created for your entertainment.  It was a cross between Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab’s Goreshock, Etat Libre d’ Orange Secretions Magnifique, or BLOOD Concept B.  I chickened out and chose the lesser of three evils, BLOOD Concept B.  The other two were way intense, notes so realistic they induced the gag reflex in some people.  (I don’t want to risk puking all over my keyboard.  Thank. you. very. much.)

BLOOD Concept is a new perfume house that runs on the premise that blood types define human evolution:

“The Human body is totally pervaded by a liquid vital rush that brings us what we more are fond of: life. Filled with legends and meanings, blood is soaked with mystery, fascination and respect: it’s the most tested and studied part of the human body. Hiding the multitude of secrets that reveals our inner and unique way of being.

BLOOD CONCEPT is a ceremony devoted to the pulse of life and its visceral boost. It is actually the river of life.

Our four fragrances, A, B, AB, 0, retrace the evolution of manhood through time and its record of information, history and mutation, so well kept in the vital flushing of blood.

BLOOD CONCEPT is a mystic ritual with no flowers to be found: deep as primeval Africa in 0‚ aromatic as the scent of familiar land in A, bold as unpredictable itineraries in B, sharp and freezing as a metropolitan skyline in AB.

Ending each time with the same subtle and mysterious note:the metallic vague suspicion of blood.”

So BLOOD Concept matches the scent with the personality of the blood type, not the real blood type itself.  Certain smells (or notes) would be more “appealing” or mix with one’s “type”.  Very intriguing.  But tell me this…I’m a primitive type “O” with tendencies toward type “B”.  What does that say about me? Probably nothing because it’s a marketing ploy,  a novel idea nonetheless.

Description:  Woody and Spicy. A Brave Traveller Keen.  To Discover the Unknown. Nomadic and Ecclectic.

Notes: Red Apple, Black Cherry, Artemisia, Pepper, Pomegranate, Black Tea, Patchouli, Tek, Metallic Notes

From the Vial:  It actually smells quite pleasant!  Not bloody at all!  It opens spicey and smokey with a smidgen of floral fruitiness.  I’m not detecting the metallic note.

Wet on Skin:  A fruity sweet smokiness.  The fruit gets sweeter as it hits my skin.  There’s a well-balanced meld between spice, smoke, and sweet.  I’m getting to like this.  Still no blood note.

Dry Down:  As it dries down, the black tea is coming through.  It’s a robust black tea and fruity jam.  This tea scent reminds me of Russian tea where they use cherry syrup for sweetness.  Very nice!  The spice of the pepper and smoke of the patchouli are lingering in the background.  The delightful aroma evokes the image of sitting in a smokey dark Russian tea room adorned with red velvet curtains.  I do detect a tang, not sure if it’s coming from the cherries, apples, pomegranate or the metallic notes.  There is a unique texture to this fragrance, it’s dark and jammy but there is a bright element that holds everything together so well.  At the end of the dry down, it smells a lot more woody and I can now discern the metallic notes.  Although, metallic notes don’t remind me of the coppery scent or taste of blood at all. Nothing remotely presents itself sanguine. Like I said before,  the metallic note just brightens the entire composition, and sharpens the tartness of the apples, cherries, and pomegranate.

Sillage:  For me, BLOOD Concept B stays close to the skin.  People would have to get in real close to smell me. (Let’s just hope they’re not vampires!)

Longevity: Poor, considering it’s an eau de parfum.  It lasts only about 3 hours.

Would I Buy a Full Bottle? Yes.  I’d buy it for myself but I can see my husband getting his thieving paws on it.

Pricepoint:  $$$

Season and Occasion: Autumn and Winter.  A perfect scent for men but can be worn by women.

Final Verdict:  To my relief and to your disappointment, BLOOD Concept B is not disgusting at all.  I love it!  It’s one of the most unusual fragrances among the others I’ve sampled  and my first  (but not last ) experience with metallic notes.  What a pleasure! If you’re looking for a scent to attract vampireslook elsewhere.  However, if you love the smell of spicy, warm, woodsy oriental scents, BLOOD Concept B is the one for you! 

All this talk about tea is making me thirsty.  I have a “type O” primitive craving for a “type B” beverage.  I think I’ll brew myself a cuppa, wrap myself in my cozy quilt blanket, and patiently wait for the trick or treaters to come knocking on my door.  Happy SMELL-o-ween!

For those who like their teas dark and sweet.

Blood Concept B:  Available at Lucky Scent.

Next Up: The Morbid The Merrier’s Little Drop of Poison

