Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I apologize for being M.I.A for the past couple of weeks.  My sleep clock has been out of whack, I’ve had to deal with family health issues, and now I have a bad case of the cold.  Since my nose is out of commission, I’m going sit back and hand my husband the blogging reins.  The above picture is my husband’s perfume stash, he has managed to acquire these bottles and samples in the past six months. I find it astonishing that he has managed to collect 8 full bottles in such a short span of time.  Mind you, he had absolutely zero interest in perfumes and couldn’t understand my keen interest in fragrances. Now he is addicted to perfume reviews on youtube (robes08 aka The Fragrance Guru are practically best buds now) and impulsively orders fumes online.  I don’t know whether to be happy or frightened that he is sharing my perfume obsession, but the dude can’t stop smelling things!

So without further ado, introducing Mr. Olfactory Obsessed’s perfume collection and his rather unconventional description of each scent…

Full Bottles

(Starting from the back row from left to right)

Dior Farenheit Absolute:  Imagine an Arabian Night.  Sitting in a luxurious room in a hotel foyer bar in Dubai.  It’s spicy, warm, and exotic.  I detect a subtle hint of petrol, but more like the afterspill two days later.  This is a nightclub scent.  I can imagine a lot of men wearing this out on the town on a hot, balmy evening in Miami.  This is not an everyday scent for me, I find it too strong for daytime.  It has incredible staying power and projection.  I rate this an 8/10.Notes:  Violet, Myrrh, Oud, Incense.  Nose: Francois Demachy

Jean Paul Gaultier Le Male:  It smells like you just changed your baby’s nappy.  The baby crawls to a closet full of pink, powdery Hubba Bubba bubblegum knocking over talcum powder in an upscale barbershop.  Le Male has a nice fresh sweetness about it.  I could wear this everyday.  I rate this an 8/10.  Notes:  Artemisia, Lavendar, Mint, Bergamot, Cardamom, Caraway, Orange Blossom, Cinnamon, Sandalwood, Tonka Bean, Amber, Vanilla, and Cedar.  Nose: Francis Kurkdjian

Hugo Hugo Boss:  Smells like nice showergel in a fresh bathroom.
Not quite a cheap smelling scent, more on the cusp.  It has a fresh muskiness to it. There is nothing special or different about it, it smells like every other mainstream fragrance out there.  It lasts 4-6 hours on me and the projection is decent.  I catch it wafting around.  Although, I don’t wear Hugo these days because I’ve got nicer perfumes to choose from in my collection.  I rate this 4/10. Notes:  Lavendar, Green Apple, Mint, Grapefruit, Carnation, Sage, Geranium, Pine tree, Oakmoss, Patchouli, Vetiver.  Nose: Bob Aliano

Creed Aventus:  Smells like a tropical evening.  Think very bright fresh fruits being sold in an evening market in a tropical island.  If you took a farmer’s market that only sold fruits and put it in the Bahamas, you’ve got Aventus.  It’s a nice fragrance but when I smell it later in the day, I wished I sprayed Green Irish Tweed.  I kind of get sick of the fruity smell after awhile but maybe this is just me.  I’m not a fruity kind of guy.  I would wear this once or twice a week.  It’s nice to wear sometimes.  It’s not a loud fragrance and I think it is more subtle than Green Irish Tweed.  I rate this 7/10.  Notes:  blackcurrant, bergamot, apple, pineapple, rose, dry birch, Moroccan jasmine, patchouli, oak moss, musk, ambergris, and vanilla. Nose: Olivier Creed, Erwin Creed

Creed Green Irish Tweed: Reminds me of an English Gent sitting on a freshly cut lawn surrounded by flowerbeds drinking some citrus juice.  I love this scent.  I could wear it everyday. It’s a perfect office scent.  You can get away with being casual if you don’t spray too much.  I rate this 9/10.  Notes: Iris, Lemon Verbena, Violet, Vetiver, Basil, Amber, Cedar. Nose: Olivier Creed

Armani Diamonds: Smells synthetic and mostly alcohol.  Whenever I spray this on, it feels as if somebody poured vodka all over me.  When 10% of the alcohol disappears, you can get a sense that it smells like Hugo Hugo Boss but Hugo Boss is nicer.  Armani Diamonds reminds me of fusty old people’s clothes.  I would say the best thing about Diamonds is the bottle.  I just keep it for decor.  I would rather wear bug spray than wear Diamonds.  I rate this a big fat ZERO.  Notes: Litchi, Rasberry, Patchouli, Freesia, Lily of the Valley, Cedar, Rose, Amber, Vanilla, Vetiver. Nose: Thierry Wasser

Bvlgari Black:  Imagine somebody smoking a cigar that got into his new leather interior car with new rubber tires and ran over a pedestrian wearing a leather jacket eating vanilla ice cream.  This is Bvlgari Black.  My favorite out of my collection and I would consider this my signature scent until I ever find something better.  Love it!  I rate this 9/10.  Notes: Green Tea, Bergamot, Sandalwood, Cedar, Jasmine, Leather, Amber, Musk, Vanilla. Nose: Annick Menardo

Dolce & Gabbana The One Gentleman:  I picture a white yacht with a polished deck with rich dark wood.  The aquatic note reminds me of a nighttime sea front at a yacht club.  No projection and it doesn’t last long.  It’s an ok fragrance. I don’t wear this one at all. I easily forget that it is in my collection.  I rate this 6/10.  Notes: Pepper, Lavendar, Cardamom, Watercress, Patchouli, Vanilla

Samples

 I have acquired a few samples out of curiosity.  Most I’ve heard about them on youtube or through Mrs. Olfactory Obsessed recommendations.  These are only my first impressions so take them with a grain of salt.

(From left to right)

Le Labo Labdanum 18:  Sweet powdered incense, a bit spicy with a hint of dental anesthetic.  I am liking this one so far and is my favorite of my Le Labo sample stash.  Mrs. Olfactory  Obsessed loves this one too!

Le Labo Oud 27:  Earthy, damp, musky smell of sour mushrooms.  I’m probably not describing this correctly because it doesn’t smell as bad as it sounds.  It’s an unusual and interesting scent but I wouldn’t wear it.

Le Labo Patchouli 24:  When I first smelled this, it reminded me of dead bodies for some reason.  It reminds me of being in a Satanic shop with the dark incense crawling up my nose and sucking out my soul.  The smell makes me uncomfortable and fearful.  This could cause nightmares.  I don’t like this one at all.

Le Labo Rose 31:  Imagine sticking your nose in a bouquet of fresh roses in a vase of pencil shavings.  It’s nice but I wouldn’t buy it.

Le Labo Santal 33:  Fresh cut wood and a new leather jacket or the smell of a man’s leather wallet.  It’s nice but it wouldn’t be full bottle worthy for me.

Serge Lutens L’eau:  Grapefruit slices and flowers swirled in ice-cold water.  It’s pleasant but nothing spectacular in my opinion.

Nasomatto Pardon:  Sweet powdery wood with a hint of smoke.  I’m not sure if I would shell out money for just an ok fragrance.

Commes des Garcons Hinoki:  Fresh cut wood in a machine shop.  It reminds me of where I used to work as a guitar maker.  Mrs. Olfactory Obsessed loves this one too! Read her review here.

Andy Tauer L’Air du Desert Marocain:  It smells as if you are wearing a leather jacket in the desert and you can smell a bed of sweet flowers in the distance carried by the dry desert wind blowing in your direction.  This scent is beautiful.  Full bottle worthy for sure!

[Image 1] by Olfactory Obsessed

