Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The second review in For Strange Women’s sample series…Decadence & Debauchery. The name suggests good times in a 19th century brothel. I immediately think of old timey piano music in the background, tobacco smoke, mahogany wood, the floral powdery musk of a whore’s perfume.

Description:  Decadence & Debauchery, a custom creation for Dances of Vice, is a glamourous natural perfume inspired by the decadence of yesteryear and excessive indulgences.  This base of immortelle petals, resins, and violet leaves is softly smothered with traces of tobacco and vanilla bourbon.  Ripe blood oranges, bergamot, and opoponax round out the top of this intense and androgynous concoction, suitable for burlesque beauties, Victorian darlings, and vaudeville sensations alike.

Notes: Opoponax, Tobacco, Immortelle, Blood Orange, Bergamot, Violet, Patchouli, Vanilla Bourbon

From the Vial: Strong sweet tobacco and a hint of vanilla bourbon.  Shocking at first but not unpleasant.  I happen to love the smell of cigar and pipe tobacco. It reminds me of my grandpa.

Wet on Skin: Strong sweet tobacco and a hint of vanilla bourbon.  On my skin, I can detect a hint of sweetness and some of the citrus coming through.  I can get a sense of the immortelle in there.  The patchouli gives it a hint of smoulder.

Dry Down: About 10 minutes after dry down, the floral starts to seep through the tobacco and smokiness.  As time passes there is a back and forth interplay between the violets, sweetness, musk, and dark resin.   I immediately think of the color amber.  I think of the viscosity and sweetness of a slow dripping molasses.  This is definitely a dark sweet scent but not overpoweringly sweet. The citrus of the blood orange and bergamot cuts through what otherwise would have been a sickly sweetness giving the scent some balance.  As the day wears on, it morphs into something familiar but I can’t quite pinpoint what it is.

Sillage:  Decadence & Debauchery sits quite close to the skin.  If I hold my wrist a couple of inches away from my nose. I can smell it.  But a foot away, I can’t smell it which means others wouldn’t be able to tell I was wearing any kind of perfume.

Longevity: This is a slow fading scent. It lasts all day.  In fact, when I woke up in the morning, it was still there, a very faint smell.

Would I Buy a Full Bottle? I’m on the fence.  I love the smell of cigars but do I want to be one?

Pricepoint:  $

Season: Autumn and Winter.  I smell this as a nightime scent.

Final Verdict:  I really like it.  This is definitely an experience perfume for me because it conjures up memories.  Decadence & Debauchery transports me back to my time spent in Cuba.  The sweet smell of tobacco in the Caribbean air while sipping a sugary sweet and tangy mojito, sweaty bodies gyrating to the sexy rhythms of cuban music on a tropical balmy night.  It also reminds me of my cigar smoking grandfather…in an antique furniture store?  That’s what that familiar smell was on the last dry down! It smells like very old wooden furniture and its sticky sweet varnish.  Not as bad as it sounds. I can definitely smell a guy wearing this scent.  In fact, I think he would be quite decadent and sexy.  I must convince my husband to try it.

For those who love tobacco, antique wood, and being a bit quirky.

For Strange Women’s Decadence & Debauchery: http://www.etsy.com/listing/63219224/decadence-and-debauchery-natural-perfume

Next Up: For Strange Women’s Winter Kitty

