Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 Part 2 in the YOSH fragrance series…

So Stargazer 7.71 wasn’t what I hoped it would be.  Let’s see how Ginger Ciao 2.27 rises to the challenge…

Description:  Ginger Ciao is the bewitching heroine of a major modern novella; she’s charismatic, daring, and scintillating. Arabian sandalwood, ylang ylang, and black coconut offer the undeniable allure of faraway lands. While touches of Kenya lily, basil, and ginger hint that our charming heroine also has an audaciously intelligent alter ego. This fragrance has enough seductions to go around, but you’ll probably want to keep it all to yourself.

Notes: Black Coconut, Night Queen, Tiger Lily, Neroli, Ylang Ylang, Ginger, Basil

From the Vial:  Opens with a strong white floral and a hint of milky coconut. The basil represses the powdery sweetness (ylang ylang) a bit and gives it a herbal freshness. I can’t detect the ginger by scent but I can feel the zing in my nostrils.  It’s hiding in there somewhere. Overall, my first impression is that it is a refreshing floral scent.

Wet on Skin:  My skin is picking up the coconut and taking center stage with its floral counterpart. 

Dry Down:  As it dries down, Ginger Ciao becomes soft and sweeter.  The coconut becomes toastier.   The fragrance reminds me of a glamorous suntan lotion.  I’m still waiting for this scent to expose its adventurous side.  My nose is longing for the ginger to come out of hiding from the backseat and drive.  But alas, this does not happen. At the end of the drydown enters the sandalwood, the scent becoming a powdery, earthy, sweet floral.

Sillage:  Average throw.  People would be able to smell me when I pass by them.

Longevity:  As with high quality fragrances, it stays on all day long.

Would I Buy a Full Bottle? No, I don’t think it would warrant a full bottle.  Pleasant scent but doesn’t really speak to me. I wouldn’t mind purchasing a pocket purse spray or rollerball for summer outings.

Pricepoint: $$$

Season and Occasion: Summer day or evenings. 

Final Verdict:  It’s a very nice summer scent…sensual and soft.  I can hear bossa nova music in the background and feel the sand between my toes.  It’s the type of scent you wear with your designer bikini while sunning in St. Tropez. Although, I’m disappointed that the so-called daring side didn’t jump out at me and knock my top off.   As with Stargazer 7.71, I feel like there is something lacking in Ginger Ciao. I’m left with wanting something more.  I wish that the ginger had a major role to play; to give it more life and set itself apart from the rest of the notes.

There is no doubt that Yosh Han’s fragrances are beautifully composed and of high quality. Maybe I’ve placed too many high expectations on this line and that I should learn to appreciate the beauty of its simplicity.  Behind every YOSH fragrance, lies its own identity.    Luckily, there’s more to explore from her line and I’m sure there’s at least one gem that would fit my personality.  Maybe I haven’t met my match yet.

For those who want to smell like St. Tropez in the summer.

YOSH’s Ginger Ciao 2.27:  http://www.barneys.com/Ginger-Ciao-Eau-de-Parfum/00505007643941,default,pd.html?cgid=BEAUT01

Next Up: Bliss EDT

