Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m a real sucker for cute packaging.  I mean just look at the above pic, how can you resist buying this?  

Lollia is another of Margot Elena’s line, one of many, with her most famous being the niche brand Tokyo Milk!  As opposed to Tokyo Milk’s quirky, whimsical and sometimes dark character, the Lollias play on the romantic feminine side.  I’m so in lust with her French country style intricate packaging. Everytime I see a Margot Elena display I immediately gravitate towards them and forget about other products in the store, there’s something about her packaging that pulls you in:

“I am truly committed to creating signature, standout, sophisticated packaging, with the intention of always reaching the most beautiful design possibilities. When I design, I really take a “no detail overlooked” approach, being mindful of each product always having a distinct something extra to make it that much more personal and intriguing. I believe that beautiful products are inseparable from beautiful environments, so I design both to create a really rich context. I want my customers to fall in love with the packaging in store and then when they take it home, to discover something totally new!”  ~Margot Elena

Her packaging may look good but do her products smell good?  Lollia Imagine Shea Butter Handcreme does not disappoint. Imagine smells as beautiful as she looks…

Description:  A floral fragrance impression of the most beautiful day imaginable. Flowering Willow & Lotus float in, then flutter away leaving a trace of Orchid on their wings. Breezy Rice Flower and warm Coconut Milk mix with dew drop notes of Mandarin and Jasmine petals. Not a cloud in sight…a sun dappled sophisticated scent.

Design Details: The Lollia signature handcreme box is wrapped with a delicate sleeve bearing the Imagine cherry blossoms and Chinoiserie bird.

Key Ingredients: Rich Shea Butter and Macadamia Nut Oils.

Notes:  Lotus, Orchid, Rice Powder, Coconut Milk, Jasmine, Mandarin Orange

Scent: Imagine smells soft and feminine.  The scent isn’t overbearing, just barely kissing my hands with gentle fragrance.  I can smell the lotus and the orchid.  The florals are the dominant note but it’s well-balanced with the coconut milk and rice powder.  The rice powder gives it a soft quality while the coconut sweetens the florals a bit. I love how the coconut milk doesn’t venture over to suntan lotion territory. It smells natural like the juice of the coconut. I can smell the impression of Jasmine, just a gentle waft, not heady or overpowering. The Mandarin Orange is what makes this scent juicy and there’s a tang that brightens the composition.  Everything about this scent smells natural.  It reminds me of Hawaii wearing a beautiful lei; a long and lush chain of orchids, lotus and jasmine lightly dusted with ricepowder and me sipping the juice from a freshly cracked young coconut.

Texture & Application:  The texture is light and creamy, a bit on the watery side but nothing to cry about.  It absorbs easily into the skin and it’s not greasy.

Moisture:  I like how this leaves a sheen of silk on my skin.  My skin feels nourished, hydrated and smooth.

Sillage:  This lotion has pretty decent projection.  I can smell my hands as I’m typing and when there is any type of movement.

Longevity:  It lasts about 3 hours before the scent fades and I feel the need moisturize again.

Pricepoint: $…I like how Margot Elena’s products aren’t ridiculously overpriced.  It seems like you get more for your money with the beautiful packaging and amazing product.

Would I Buy A Full Size? Yes I would definitely buy a full size. I love this scent and am thinking of buying the EDP.  The complete collection, called her complete story, would make a great gift for Mother’s Day or Birthday.  The complete story is pricey but you’re getting everything in the line ( Bubble Bath, Eau de Parfum, Shea Butter Handcreme, Perfumed Luminary, Petite Perfumed Luminary, Dusting Powder, Sea Salt Sachet).

 Season and Occasion:  All year round.  It’s a summer scent but strong enough that could be worn in winter.  It’s a nice change of pace to the usual heavy, smokey scents I wear for winter.  Imagine helps me escape from the gloomy, dark, cold weather and transports me to sun, sand, beach.

Final Verdict:  I love this.  I love the smell, I love how it makes my skin feel like silk.  I love the petite portable handcreme. It’s so cute that it makes me smile everytime I reach for the tube in my handbag.  I love how the scent smells natural.  It isn’t overbearing and doesn’t give me a headache like most Bath & Bodyworks lotions. Most of all, I love the beautiful packaging.  Margot Elena’s products are the type of products you display proudly in your guest bathroom.  They would add a sophistication and elegance to any bathroom.

For those who love soft, feminine tropical gourmand florals and who want to be swept away to the beaches of Hawaii and escape the dead cold winter…

Lollia Imagine Shea Butter Handcreme: Available at lollialife.com

Curious about other Margot Elena scents?  Check out my reviews here.

Next Up: L’Aromatica Wine-Glazed Pears

