Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

“Chestnuts roasting on an open fire

Jack Frost nipping on your nose,

Yuletide carols being sung by a choir,

And folks dressed up like eskimos…”

The Nat King Cole Christmas Album has been on repeat on my Ipod for the past week.  I’m hoping Nat King Cole will lift me up from this Christmas funk.  If he can’t exorcise the Grinch out of me, I’m probably a hopeless cause.

Two weeks ago, I was walking along Union Square (with Nat King Cole) and stopped by Williams Sonoma.  I don’t usually shop here because I think they are overpriced, but I love to browse their gourmet food section.  If you’ve never been inside Williams Sonoma, you’re missing out.  From an olfactory standpoint, the delectable aromas that come out of this store are a feast for the nose. When you smell homemade butternut squash soup wafting through the air on a cold winter’s day, you have no choice but to enter the store.  It’s very enticing!

As I was perusing their hand and soap line, I noticed the shelves were in full stock of their Spiced Chestnut Essential Oils Collection.  You have no idea how this made me happy!  I’ve been in a mad chestnut phase for some time.  For the past two years, I’ve only read good things about Williams Sonoma Spiced Chestnut. For the past two years, I’ve looked online and in stores during the holiday season only to find they were sold out. Being the hoarder I am, I immediately grabbed a couple of bottles (or four) of their hand lotion. I was so eager to smell, I kept sniffing the bottle during my journey home on the subway train, I could have sworn passengers thought I was some glue sniffing freak. (Step away from the crazy huffer lady!)  

Description: 

Roasted chestnuts are a familiar sight and scent at holiday time. A customer favorite, our comforting blend soothes with the warm, buttery fragrance of chestnut essence, spiced with aromatic cinnamon and clove. Made with premium-quality essential oils sourced from around the world, all of the products are biodegradable and none are tested on animals. These earth-friendly blends contain no parabens, ammonia, chlorine or lauramide DEA. They’re developed exclusively for Williams-Sonoma in the USA.

  • Scented with the warm essence of chestnuts, aromatic cinnamon, clove and other premium essential oils and essences.
  • Biodegradable earth-friendly blends contain no parabens, ammonia, chlorine or lauramide DEA.
  • Not tested on animals.
  • Hand lotion features natural shea butter and vitamin-rich botanical oils.

Notes: Chestnut, Cinnamon, Clove

Scent: Imagine you’ve peeled the skin back from a freshly roasted chestnut and all you see is the creamy meat of said chestnut.  This is what you get when you smell Williams Sonoma Spiced Chestnut Hand Lotion.  It’s buttery, creamy, and nutty with a light blend of brown sugar, cinnamon sticks and clove to add some kick. Simple, beautiful, and delicious!  I guarantee if you smell this you will think of Thanksgiving and Christmas.  If you’re a city dweller, you will think of roasted chestnut carts steaming on street corners. 

Texture & Application:  Thick for a hand lotion and a little goes a long way.  It spreads easily across the skin and quickly hydrates hands leaving no greasy film residue.

Moisture: It immediately absorbs into the skin. My hands feel smooth, soft, and supple throughout the day.

Sillage:  The scent lifts off the skin somewhat.  People sitting beside you would be able to smell it.

 Longevity:  I found myself reapplying after 4 hours but that’s not because I felt its moisturizing effects wearing off but because I wanted to freshen up the fragrance.

Pricepoint:  For a Williams Sonoma product, it’s on the cheaper side.  For a huge 16 FL oz bottle the regular retail price is $12.95.  I usually wait until the holiday sales where it’s a bit cheaper for $9.95.

Would I Purchase Again? Yes, definitely.  I wish they sold this year round.   They also sell a deluxe gift set (soap and lotion combo) which would make excellent Christmas and Thanksgiving host/hostess gifts.  They also sell candles, diffusers, and dish soap in this scent.  I’d love to get the candle.  The candle must smell incredible if it’s anything like the lotion.

Season and Occasion: Fall and Winter.  Christmas and Thanksgiving.

 Final Verdict:  Williams Sonoma Spiced Chestnut Hand Lotion is a wonderful scent for the holidays. Cozy and warm, like a big holiday hug!  It’s the best chestnut scent I’ve found to date.  It is also very moisturizing and hydrating, perfect for the drying affects of harsh winter weather.  The more I use Spiced Chestnut Hand Lotion, the more it gets me in gear for the Christmas festivities ahead.

For those who crave spicy holiday chestnuts…

Williams Sonoma Spiced Chestnut Hand Lotion:  I just checked and they are sold out again! Keep an eye out for next Holiday Season.

 

Looking for Nutty Scents?  Check out my reviews here.

 

[Image 1] via williams-sonoma.com

