Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Long time no post! I apologize for my unexplained absence.  Life got in the way.  I’ve gone back to school and the sheer amount of work required has been excessive.  Unfortunately, I have had no time to sniff and post but I’m trying to get back into the swing of things.  I can’t promise I will be posting on a regular basis but I promise I will share my exciting new discoveries!

Lately, I have an obsession with loose leaf teas.  There is something about tea that makes me relaxed and calm.  Just as perfume, the aroma is cathartic with the added bonus perfume doesn’t provide — you can savor the flavor! As a matter of fact, I wrote a post about the similarities betweeen tea and perfume.  You can check it out here.  Late night studying makes me sleepy and I tend to snack to keep me awake.  Tea helps keeps me awake without excess consumption of calories.  (Remember the Freshmen Ten?)

I recently discovered a loose leaf tea company from Canada called DavidsTea. To me, DavidsTea is like Lush or Bath & Bodyworks but for tea. They bring tea to the masses which is pretty cool! Everyone should drink tea. Tea does a body good!  Their tea menu is extensive, it’s enough to make your head spin! They have so many different kinds of teas and flavors to choose from such as Black, Green, Oolong, Rooibos, and Tisane blends. It was hard to choose just three…

I was excited to receive my package from Montreal.  When I opened the box, the most delectable aroma wafted into the air — a mix of blueberries, caramel, chocolate, cinnamon.  I ordered three 50g bags of three of their best selling teas: Organic Blueberry Jam, Pumpkin Chai, and Salted Caramel.  They also added three more samples to boot!

Organic Blueberry Jam

Ingredients:  black tea, blueberries, elderberries,  pink cornflower petals,  stevia

Review:    This is a fruity black tea blend full of plump dried blueberries.  The smell of the dry leaf is a delicious cloying berry compote.  It’s as if I opened a jar of blueberry jam.  The steep aroma smells just the same. The brew dark almost bordering black.  Everything pointed to strong bold flavor.   I was very excited to take my first sip.  When I did, it was a big let down.  It was weak in flavor but with each sip the flavor kept getting stronger and before I knew it i reached the bottom of my cup wanting m ore. The taste of blueberries lingered in my mouth long after it’s  as if I’ve just gotten a handful of blueberries and stuffed my gob.  This is the most authentic blueberry tea I have ever tried. Don’t expect this tea to hit you right away.  It will eventually drop a huge blueberry explosion when you least expect it.  I find it best sweetened with a drop of milk.  The sweetener draws out the flavor of the blueberry more and the milk gives the impression of blueberries and cream.  Yum!

Pumpkin Chai

Ingredients: Black tea, cinnamon, cloves, lemon peel, squash, carrot, caramel bits, pumpkin candies, natural and artificial flavouring

Review: I’ve never thought of tea having an aesthetic, but this tea is so cute! The dry leaf has tiny orange pumpkins peppered throughout the leaves along with chunks of pumpkin meat. The liquor is a beautiful deep amber. And the smell…it smells like pumpkin pie filling with an underlying malty plume of smoke from the black tea. Much like a pumpkin pie brulee. I would gladly wear this as perfume. The smell of the brew is a mouthwatering caramel and creamy pumpkin, the spices take on a supporting role. The flavor is to die for, the liquor runs creamy and smooth across the palate tasting a bit sweet, molten caramel and pumpkin meld together dancing with the soft music of autumn spices. Enough of me waxing poetic. This tea is baller, yo! If this were a latte it would be nothing short of orgasmic.

Salted Caramel

Ingredients:  Black tea, coconut, caramel bits,  English toffee bits, sea salt, natural and artificial flavouring

Review: I have been in a bad mood all week.  I’ve been chained to my computer bogged down by an excessive load of school work.  This law paper I am writing is pure torture; a looming deadline never helps.  Naturally, I run to the tea cupboard for respite from stress and chaos.  I reach for Salted Caramel because I know this tea never fails to turn my frown upside down.  The smell of the dry leaf is divine: ooey gooey sweet salty and chewy fleur de sel caramels with a boozy undertone.  A salty caramel liqour. The aroma of the brew is molten caramel without the inebriation from the dry leaf.  This is one of those teas that tastes just like it smells. It smells and tastes exactly like a Heath Bar.  First sip you get the creamy feel and taste of caramel, you can taste a bit of malt from the black tea.  The aftertaste is interesting and unique.  Once the tea hits the back of your throat, you can taste a miniscule sprinkle of sea salt.  Very unique this tea.  I would be surprised if this tea doesn’t bring a smile to anyone’s face.

Lime Gelato

Ingredients: Apple, sencha-style green tea, pineapple cubes, lemongrass and lime yogurt artificial flavouring

Review: Lime Gelato from Davids Tea.  Lime Gelato is a fruity green tea.  When I opened the sample, I was immediately taken by the aroma. It smells just like key lime pie and the liquor stays true its fragrance.  It follows through on taste.  The lime is distinct but not tart and there is just a whisper of sweetness.  This is a delicious, light refreshing tea and I can easily drink gallons of it.  It tastes like a watered down lime sorbet. I imagine this tea would be amazing iced.  Full tin worthy for sure!

Coco Canela

Ingredients: Yerba Mate, carob, cocoa, cinnamon, chocolate chips.

Review: Feeling sluggish so I reached for a mate this morning.  The dry leaf smells…Holy Cinnamon, Batman! with an underlay of bitter chocolate lingering in the background.  While steeping it smells just like Mexican Hot Chocolate. The color of the brew is surprisingly light and the taste is full and robust.  Cinnamon and chocolate are well balanced.  If I close my eyes, I wouldn’t think I was drinking tea but Mexican Hot chocolate.  It’s spicy, warm and chocolatey.  Even better with a hint of honey and a drop of milk. I may just get a full tin of this!

Organic Jade Oolong Chai

Ingredients:  jade style Tie Kuan Yin, ginger root, cinnamon, cardamom, pink peppercorns, stevia leaf. With natural flavouring

Review: Organic Jade Oolong Chai from Davids Tea.  When I opened the packet, I was really scared.  The smell was a cross between an Indian grocery store and a Chinese herbal shop.  It was strong, spicy medicinal, and pungent.  I only steeped it 5 mins for fear that the flavor would be as strong as its scent.  Surprisingly, the brew had a very light aroma of spice. The pungency is barely there.  The taste is nice and light. I get the tiniest bit of heat from the peppercorns with each sip. This is a very delicate chai.  It’s pleasant but not something I’d run out and buy.

Final Verdict:  I’m happy with my DavidTea order.  They are quality teas packed full of flavor and reasonably priced.  You have many different teas to choose from.  My favorites from this haul are Salted Caramel, Organic Blueberry Jam, Pumpkin Chai, Lime Gelato, and Coco Canela.  I can’t wait to explore more flavors from their menu and I am definitely going to order full tins of my favorites. They do use artificial flavoring for their non-organic tea so if you are concerned about that, I would just focus on their organic line.  Prices vary according to weight.  You can order online and there are some DavidsTea stores scattered throughout the US.  Check out DavidsTea here.

