Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Bouchon Bakery Box

Good things come in small packages…

Find out what’s inside!

A month ago, my husband and I took a jaunt to explore Yountville, CA. Yountville is in the heart of Napa Valley wine country. It is a quaint little town with a mainstreet the size of one city block lined with world renowned restaurants run by celebrity chefs. People from all over the globe flock to this sleepy spot on the map just to dine at The French Laundry. The French Laundry, as Anthony Bourdain exclaimed, “is the best restaurant in the world, period.” It has won various awards and touts 3 michelin stars. Furthermore, it was pioneered by my favorite chef of all time, Thomas Keller. The French Laundry is on my bucket list. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to cross this off my list that day. We didn’t have time to go to the bank to withdraw our life savings so we went next door to Thomas Keller’s Bouchon Bakery instead.

I wanted to reward myself for all my hardwork last semester. (I got straight A’s and earned President’s Honors. I deserve it, dammit!) The carrot dangling at the end of the stick that got me through all those sleepless nights burning the midnight oil were the thought of these…

French Macarons from Bouchon Bakery!

French Macarons from Bouchon Bakery!

Yes, I know I’m late jumping on the macaron bandwagon. I missed that train back in 2005 or whenever that macaron trend was. I’m just not cool enough, what can I say? That being said, I am not a macaron expert by any means.

At $3-$4 a piece, these macarons can easily destroy your wallet with so many flavors to choose from. The hubs and I exercised self control and only got two, Passionfruit and Pistachio. Bouchon macarons are known for their huge size. They are double, almost triple the size of traditional macarons. I don’t know if this is a good or bad thing. I’ve read that size matters though (hehe).

-My Hubby, the Macaron Connoisseur Poseur

People have rivaled these macarons to The Ladurée in Paris. I don’t know about that, but Bouchon’s looked too beautiful too eat! After I spent time fawning over them, I took a bite into the passionfruit. As I sank my teeth in I could hear the gentle crack of its fragile meringue coating. The center chewy and the filling a silky, smooth creaminess melting on my tongue. Fruity, tropical, and the perfect balance of tart and sweet.  I was expecting macarons to be tooth-achingly sweet but this was not the case. A good thing in my book. The pistachio was just as excellent. I can taste the meaty nuttiness of the pistachio and devoured the ganache like it was my last meal on earth.  What I really like about Bouchon’s macarons is its natural taste.  You can definitely tell they don’t skimp on ingredients.  They impart the right amount of flavor without being over the top which I find with most desserts made with artifical flavoring. My husband took a bite and shrugged his shoulders. He didn’t know what the big deal was but he was really impresed with the passionfruit. We wanted more but we couldn’t justify dropping $30 for a box of six macarons. (Bouchon isn’t going anywhere, there will definitely be a next time! *hoping that it doesn’t burn down like it did 2 years ago*)

The macarons at Bouchon Bakery were an eye-opening experience and I can now understand and appreciate why people are infatuated with this delicate french cookie. I see myself hoarding macarons like I do perfume samples and tea. As a matter of fact, macarons and tea make a complementary pair!

Thanks a lot, Thomas Keller! You just gave me one more thing to obsess over.

Bouchon Bakery 
6528 Washington Street
Yountville, California 94599
707.944.2253

Other popular items: TKO cookie, bouchons (brownies), croissants, brioche

